Post-Update: Forum Issues Read more... ×
BPAL Madness!
Aleah

Berry Moon 2011

BERRY MOON
In August, the large masses of berries, which, when in flower, had attracted many wild bees, gradually assumed their bright velvety crimson hue, and by their weight again bent down and broke their tender limbs.
-- Henry David Thoreau

A sensuous, deep berry bouquet: blackberries, raspberries, and blueberries with Morello cherries, apricots, and strawberries, swirled in heady red musk and brandy.

Yay!! I get to be first! I just got this in my mail and couldn't wait to try it!

I'm not very good at picking out notes but here goes . . .

Out of the bottle - I smell something sweet, that reminds me a little of vanilla, although there's no vanilla listed in the notes. Maybe it's the cherries?

On the skin - The musk is beautiful and is coming around nicely.

This is drying down beautifully, it doesn't seem to be too strong on my skin. The brandy is not strong at all, it almost reminds me more of a "wine like" scent. It is musky and a little bit sweet, and I think it's perfect! I think it's very well blended and is going to be a favorite of mine :) I'll come back later if the scent changes much over time.

Wet in the bottle: Gorgeous soft berries

Dry: Berries and brandy with hints of red musk. :yum: It's a little bitter...in the wet stage...but the drydown is totally worth it. But I really will only need one bottle.

This is lovely. It's very 'fall' to me... it's much less sweet and berry than I was expecting. The berries are there but so is the musk and the brandy. It's rich and warm. I get whiffs of the berries, cherry and apricot when it's wet but everything falls into line with the musk and brandy as it dries and then I can't smell any specific notes..... it just smells really yummy!

It's win for me

:joy: