Post-Update: Forum Issues Read more... ×
BPAL Madness!
Sign in to follow this  
vanillabean

What am I smelling?

Hello beloved BPAL-ers! :)

As a newbie, I have been immersing myself in all sorts of oils to try and find ones I like. The only prroblem is, sometimes I don't know what it is I am smelling so I can look for other blends using that note.

Oh sure, some of them are obvious (like vanilla or blueberry) but some like amber and vetiver confound me. :blush:

Any advice on how to tell what it is I am smelling in a blend?

:wub2:

Hello beloved BPAL-ers! :)

As a newbie, I have been immersing myself in all sorts of oils to try and find ones I like. The only prroblem is, sometimes I don't know what it is I am smelling so I can look for other blends using that note.

Oh sure, some of them are obvious (like vanilla or blueberry) but some like amber and vetiver confound me. :blush:

Any advice on how to tell what it is I am smelling in a blend?

:wub2:

It's really sad that smells don't translate into words that well, but reviews can be a tiny bit of help.

All I can suggest is to read the scent notes. If you happen to get extra frimps or sniffies, practice on those and look up the notes even if you don't like the scent. I don't think anyone except professionals can pick notes out all the time, but I've definately developed a more educated sense of smell.