Post-Update: Forum Issues Read more... ×
BPAL Madness!
Sign in to follow this  
Vega

Can I use BPAL to train my nose?

I'm a newbie to perfumes in general, and my sense of smell is rather abysmal... (I've been known to stand in a garden full of roses and say "hey, something smells nice!" that's how dismal I am! :blush:) I know BPAL is renowned for its complex blends -- which I'm loving so far! -- but I wonder, can I train my nose to tell florals from incenses from woods, and which floral is which for example? Not counting those rare single notes, what are BPAL's simpler scents that are "single-note dominant"?

I've looked through the recs forum, but I'm wondering if this could be a useful thread to collect BPAL's simple scents. Thanks :)

i thin by simple blend you mean a blend with only a few notes?

you might start off with carnal or depraved (only two notes each) and then move on to something kabuki (three notes).

it's tough to recommend something without a good idea of what you like, but those are some of my (simple) favorites.

my personal favorite bpal of all time (i think it's even my favorite perfume of all time) is imp and it only has four notes.

Reading the reviews on this forum is what helps me most to develop my sense of smell. I'm still a beginner, though. Sometimes I read a scent description, sniff the scent on my wrist and think "Oh, that's what ____ smells like! Ha!". Sometimes I'm just confused. :lol:

Here are some "easy" scents (with one or two dominating note(s)) to get you started (some of those impressions might depend on my skin chemistry):

Two, Five and Seven for the rose garden. ;)

Squirting Cucumber is cucumber (and a bit of grass).

Yvaine for lavender and magnolia.

The Dormouse or Shanghai for tea.

Twinkle, Twinkle Little Bat has many notes listed, but on me it's pure melon.

Pink Snowballs: soft roses and vanilla.

Queen of Sheba is mostly almonds.

Either O or Womb Furie for honey.

Embalming Fluid aka lemon.