Post-Update: Forum Issues Read more... ×
BPAL Madness!
binkin

Avoiding notes that turn to hairspray

I'm hoping I got the right forum for this. I need someone to help me figure out what note smells like old-school chemically hairspray, because today I was deeply saddened to discover that whatever it is, it's in Black Rose. The only other scent I've had this with is Santa Muerte, and on both occasions I have actually gagged a bit while trying to scrub the scent off (which is next to impossible).

The thing is, they don't have any LISTED notes in common. Maybe someone else has had this reaction/sense and can give me some ideas? I'm fairly new to BPAL so I'm having a hard time narrowing things down a bit, still.

Black Rose has amber, black musk, roses.

Santa Muerte has lovers’ roses, solemn chrysanthemum, dark vetiver and dazzling cactus flowers.

Help? :huh?:

I put this in the wrong forum earlier :ack: -- I mixed up Suggestions and Recommendations :D

Edited by ivyandpeony
added search terms to title

They both have rose in them. It could be a similar rose they both have, as I don't know what lovers' rose is. :P

I understand what you mean. Hairspray, to me, smells powdery and sweet. It's a smell I like. Similar to rose, it turns powdery and sweet on my skin. It could be your nose or skin chemistry changing the rose smell to a hairspray smell. I do think they smell similar, or at least rose sometimes reminds me of hairspray.

Hope that helps. I kind of rambled. :)

Black Rose has amber, black musk, roses.

Santa Muerte has lovers’ roses, solemn chrysanthemum, dark vetiver and dazzling cactus flowers.