Post-Update: Forum Issues Read more... ×
BPAL Madness!

HUNTERS IN THE SNOW
The scent of a calm, grey winter’s day: bare trees and cooking fires, thick blankets of snow, and icy, frozen rivers.

Wet: Smells masculine to me, an assortment of woods (I'm not very good at picking these out). The snow hits when wet, but is minor and overpowered by the woods.
Dry: Didn't try - woods don't work for me, so no dry test was done. This was off to the swabs/sales for me.

Courtesy of the wonderful mellifluous.

Sweet snow topnote is present. There must be a little bit of grey musk in this as the air smells slightly resinous and chilly. Just a hint of a smoke from the fires but no spicey warmth from that directly. The trees may be a hint of birch or a subtle woodsey note. The rest of the scent is very ozonic and marine in that it is a mix of powdery snow notes, ice, and the icy rivers. It's pretty amazing, I have to say. Smells like outside and camping.

I am going to start this review off by saying I adore the bottle art. It is perfect for this idea and I adore it.

In bottle: Generic cologne. My brother used to have a bottle that smelled sort of like this, though I can't remember for the life of me what the perfume was.

Wet: This is a sweet, spicy ozone scent. There is a touch of floral and something that reminds me of maple sap, very sweet and green.

Drydown: There's the smokey wood scent I was looking for! While I didn't mind the sweetness of the wet stage, the pepperiness of the smoke is quite lovely.

Dry: Cheap cologne and sun screen. Hopefully some rest and aging will bring out the wood and smoke some more.

Conclusion: There is real promise in stages of this, though I'm not sure I want to keep my second bottle. I think I'll let them both sit for a while and then retest them before making any final choices. I will keep the bottle I opened most likely, but if it stays this soapy, it won't get much love.

--edit--